And I shall have some peace there

The heat has draped itself like an oppressive and wet blanket over Kolkata, where I write this post from. Not a leaf stirs, except when the parrots visit the guava tree next door, screeching to draw attention that they have come to feast. I wonder what it is about this city – with its creaky ceiling fans, time that flows slow like the river, pregnant from it travel across the plains, and street vendors that continue to sell tea in earthen tumblers – that calls me back, time and time again.

While prosaic me struggles to understand poetry, one of the few poets I feel kinship with is Yeats. Therefore, this:

“… Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honey bee,

And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,

Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;

There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,

And evening full of the linnet’s wings”

I will probably go crazy with so much bean growing, two days into my rural idyll; and the beans will likely shrivel and die due to my acute lack of green digits. I am also trying really hard to forget about the giant bee that tried to physically KILL me while I lay snoozing in the sunlight on Monday morning. I like to day dream though, of hibiscus plants growing in the Calcutta heat, and this is where I find peace.

Now that I have attempted serious philosophical thoughts, let’s turn to more mundane matters. As the sun glinted off the water flooding the surrounding paddy fields, I landed in the city, anxiously clutching a big box of garlic pull apart rolls. Baked these fresh, the evening before, to share with friends and family here. As the dough quietly rose, I cavorted around the living room – and while there are several things I will do better the next time I make these – at the first bite of the warm bread, I could have competed with good old Yeats at being lyrical about yeast.

Garlic Pull Apart Buns
Garlic Pull Apart Buns

Recipe link: https://sinamontales.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/garlic-pull-apart-buns/

Ireland (and the world) meanwhile celebrates Yeats2015, to mark the 150th anniversary of his birth. So happy birthday, William Butler Yeats. I quite hope you found your bee-loud glade.

Leave a Reply

