Toy Story (Beach Version)

I have been working on Shelly the Turtle and Ambrose the Baby Mouse for a while now. With a big sigh of relief, I put the finishing touches on both of them last night. No sooner had I turned off the lights, to take tiredly to bed, than the whispering began.

image

Shelly: *strident yet whining* Finally, long last, she has stitched on my spots. Those pins that she stuck into me to keep the work-in-progress in place, made me feel like a voodoo turtle.

Ambrose: *in the tone of someone, who if they wore pants, would start them at the knees* Yo! Wassup Turtle!

Shelly: Don’t you adopt that tone with me, young man.

Ambrose: Peace out, Sister. * flexes his puny guns* I just got brand new limbs. And my head, after months of rolling around like a dud bowling ball, has been attached to my body. I feeeeel gooood!

Shelly: I know! Remember, how I tottered around on two legs for the longest time. She SAID she ran out of yarn. Bunch of baloney!

*smug pause*

I did have a tail though.

Ambrose: My tail! Oh my tail! She was at it the whole day. She just could not get it right! If only I had a snout back then, I would have told her the Robert the Bruce story, and how the king was inspired by a little spider to never give up.

Shelly: Bet your socks that the spider was Anansi up to his no good tricks. Weaving his web of tales. The crook! Anyhow, I overhead her saying that she took you to the doctor’s waiting room today, and an interested stranger wanted to buy you. You nearly got sold, you know.

Ambrose: *clutching his much abused tail* She would never! She loves me! * bawls loudly*

Shelly: Stop the racquet, you demented mouse. You are so annoying that no one will buy you AND your snout is sown on wrong. Anyhow, we are meant to be gifts for her women friends. *know it all look*

Ambrose: *now clutching his damaged snout* you mean, we shall have new homes…

Shelly: …and I shall be rid of you. She was exclaiming about catching a flight tomorrow morning, and I saw her pack her swimsuits in.

Ambrose: I can’t believe our luck. For months, we were without limbs, stuck with the crochet needles for company. I thought she had forgotten us. And now, be still my polyester filling heart! We are going on a summer holiday and to new homes.

*Sings loudly* We are going for a summer holiday..

Shelly, who for all her bad attitude, has the voice of an angel, joins in.

“We’re all going on a summer holiday
No more working for a week or two
Fun and laughter on our summer holiday
No more worries for me or you
For a week or two

We’re going where the sun shines brightly
We’re going where the sea is blue
We’ve seen it in the movies
Now let’s see if it’s true

We’re all going on a summer holiday..”

The curtain falls as the baby mouse and turtle link their new limbs and dance.

2 thoughts on “Toy Story (Beach Version)

  1. Wow, loved the creation and the little banter between the naughty Ambrose and cutie Shelly. Btw, strictly out of curiosity, how much time did it take to realise this creation.

    Like

    1. Several months, staggered – I really did run out of yarn πŸ™‚ Each animal took about two to three days, but I do make many errors and have to redo parts. Ambrose’s tail was truly the death of me. Thanks for the appreciation πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

