Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they aren’t after you

I am deeply terribly welded-to-the-bed unhappy.

  • My immune system is particularly vigilant. The moment it senses a single disease- causing microorganism in a 1 KM radius, it deploys its drunk-on-power-mad-dictator mode and launches a full-on attack. Think nuclear codes.
  • This has meant that I have practiced at COVID consistently for two years now. We are talking entire dress rehearsals with the active presence of most symptoms – at times occurring twice a day.
  • I have run through several gallons of sanitizer and soap. Wearing a mask has long become muscle memory.
  • Inevitable COVID exposure has led to multiple (negative) tests and several days of quarantine.
  • There have been innumerable social and work commitments that I have refused much to the chagrin of those who don’t take my immune system’s and WHO’s warnings seriously and put it down to paranoia.
  • My immediate family – most of whom are either elderly, or have far-too-many-to-list co-morbidities or are immuno-compromised – have actively resented my Draconian measures.
  • Which did not keep the beloved husband (BH) from going and contracting the disease in the latest wave. Side note: if you have actively avoided the dentist for many months, please don’t turn a new leaf at the peak of a COVID tsunami.
  • Cue:
    • Isolating every single member of the household in different rooms of our tiny apartment.
    • Foregone conclusion that I would catch COVID, given that BH waited for a full twelve hours (that we spent together), before declaring his symptoms.
    • Waiting on BH hand and foot – albeit heavily sanitized and wiped down with disinfectant.
    • Also waiting on my COVID symptoms which refused to surface (not even the usual dress rehearsal ones).
    • Yes, testing myself repeatedly, of-course testing negative every single time.
    • Several caring people – including the municipal corporation – calling me around the clock to check on the BH and other family members. Not one single person enquires as to how I, Ms. Atlas, was doing.

Fast forward a few months, I am unwell with a new bouquet of symptoms showing up.

I go to the doctor.

She thinks I have had asymptomatic COVID.

Leave a comment